Roku Streambar Review | Brilliant Budget Soundbar with 4K TV Streaming

Roku Streambar Review | Brilliant Budget Soundbar with 4K TV Streaming

Reviewing the Roku Streambar after a couple of weeks of testing – one of the best budget soundbars of 2020, paired with the same 4K HDR TV streaming of other Roku devices. The compact Streambar telly speaker can pump out fantastic audio while also serving up Ultra HD services like Netflix and Amazon Prime Video. All for Β£129 from Amazon here in the UK.

You don’t get HDR10 Plus or Dolby Plus support here, just standard HDR10, but those visuals still look slick when streaming content. But it’s the audio where this Roku soundbar-cum-streaming stick really excels. Along with Dolby Atmos support, you get a surround sound style experience at home.

Roku UI offers up access to all of the main streamers including Apple TV now, along with lots of other channels. The Streambar also supports ARC so you can use it for gaming with the likes of Xbox One Series X and PS5.

If you want a great value TV soundbar with the added bonus of streaming stick functionality, the Roku Streambar is a great option. Check out my reviews of the Chromecast 2020, Nvidia Shield and other options for alternatives.

50 Comments

  1. tmv108 on January 31, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    7:54 and we did even hear it, piss poor review!



  2. Lol Scott on January 31, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    Morning baldy. Can you cast to it, a la Chromecast etc?



  3. PJ Guz on January 31, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    Gotta love the audio…hilarious… be prepared to turn on CC.lol



  4. Jay C on January 31, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    I have tried this product and although it sounds decent, I do have issue with it. First, if I have a smart TV, I don’t need Roku, better to just buy a regular sound bar.
    I tried connecting this to 2 different TV’s that are slightly older and do not have smart capabilities. That’s the point, right? Add smart capabilities and soundbar in one device! Sounds great! No so haha.
    My first TV is 4k capable but does not have HDMI 2.2, ARC, or digital audio out. The Roku streambar works great here but only if you want to watch on Roku. Because of those limitations I mentioned, sound will not pass from the cable box to the Roku so no soundbar for cable.
    The 2nd TV I connected to is only 1080p, I has digital audio out, HDMI 1.4, and ARC capabilities. ARC would not work so I connected with digital audio. Was really annoyed about this because according to all info, it should work. My only thought is the TV is only HDMI 1.4 not 2.2. Finally I have sound from the cable box thru the Roku. However the cable box remote cannot be programmed to change volume of the Roku and the Roku remote will not control the cable box. I don’t really want to use multiple remotes at the same time.

    I could go buy new TV’s that would work with this but then I’ll end up with a TV with smart capabilities built in and no longer need the Roku.

    This device is a cool idea but needs more backwards compatibility to truly make use of the features it provides. If you already have newer equipment just spend the same money on a regular sound bar and the sound will be much better



  5. Dan Miller on January 31, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    Hate how you say roku. Gah cant watch



  6. Lou Lopez on January 31, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    We have two in our home and love them.



  7. treflippa2 on January 31, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    If I connect this to my tv via arc hdmi and my pc via optical at same time. Will the soundbar portion work with my pc when I’m using it And when I go back to regular TV will it work again as streambar? Hopefully my question makes sense.



  8. Andrew Lau on January 31, 2021 at 9:54 pm

    Is it compatible to Google TV? Or do you have to run the Roku interface?



  9. Cas on January 31, 2021 at 9:55 pm

    I just got one and having issues. Anyone have any ideas? Pressing the volume buttons on the side will freeze the roku up while on home screen. Most of the time the streambar will reset after it unfreezes. And while watching anything, pressing the volume up/down doesn’t show a prompt on screen that volume is being adjusted. It also doesn’t respond right away, and the sound will just disappear. Volume up, same thing, doesn’t respond, then sound just comes back. Thanks to any help.



  10. - David - on January 31, 2021 at 9:57 pm

    The size of this soundbar seems to make it possibe to shove it under a tv. That’s something that’s not possible with most soundbars these days. The added smart tv features seem to make it extra interesting.



  11. Taylor Johnson on January 31, 2021 at 9:59 pm

    Guy in the video looks like Murr from Impractical Jokers



  12. Nelson Contreras on January 31, 2021 at 10:00 pm

    Hello, Purchase the soundbar and love it. if you want to put an ethernet adapter you need to go to Roku https://support.roku.com/article/360058027813 hope this helps
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00484IEJS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



  13. Wayne Bennett on January 31, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    Are you able to download apps from the Google Play Store?



  14. Worsenary on January 31, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    Is clean UI πŸ˜‰



  15. Ronnie Franks on January 31, 2021 at 10:02 pm

    Can you turn that damn blinking light on the front off? If not, that’s a deal breaker.



  16. 881DAD on January 31, 2021 at 10:09 pm

    Will this work with a 1080 tv?



  17. Bewster on January 31, 2021 at 10:13 pm

    Just bought one based on your recommendation – already have 3 Roku sticks as they are the best for value by far.



  18. Neil Joyce on January 31, 2021 at 10:15 pm

    Just purchased this the sound is really impressive and great quality for what appears to be such a small speaker



  19. Alexander D on January 31, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    As far as I’m aware this does not support Dolby Atmos. You stated "full Dolby Atmos support". It has Dolby audio support but is not an Atmos device.

    Please correct me if I am wrong. Thanks.



  20. Ond Mon on January 31, 2021 at 10:16 pm

    It’s replaced my sony soundbar with subwoofer, totally destroys it, fantastic wee thing



  21. lonster3000 on January 31, 2021 at 10:18 pm

    Never heard Roku pronounced that way.



  22. Zachary Lee on January 31, 2021 at 10:19 pm

    My grandparents actually got a Roku Streambar this Month 😁



  23. steve penn on January 31, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    Would you recommend this streambar for the lg c9 65in tv.for film and music videos.or which medium priced soundbar would you recommend.i enjoy your videos, thanks.



  24. La Lily on January 31, 2021 at 10:21 pm

    I already have a smart tv with the apps so can use only the sound part without the streaming apps ? thank you πŸ™‚



  25. Flaming Hedgehog on January 31, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Roku is a US company but where is the product made?



  26. Najeeb Dawlatzai on January 31, 2021 at 10:22 pm

    Can you please explain how to use it for Samsung tv. Dose this speaker connecting to phone. I bought it but I can’t useπŸ€”πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ



  27. LatinMessiah on January 31, 2021 at 10:23 pm

    "of the likes"



  28. John TH on January 31, 2021 at 10:24 pm

    Enjoyed the review, after watching I upgraded my Roku Express, agreed it’s great value, good sound for its size/price, easy setup an improvement on built-in TV speakers.



  29. candelas Colection on January 31, 2021 at 10:25 pm

    support Dolby atmos Thanks



  30. Tony Ililau on January 31, 2021 at 10:28 pm

    pls….where can l order it…



  31. khadijah Stewart on January 31, 2021 at 10:29 pm

    I already have a roku tv i just needed a sound bar is it worth it ? Or do i just need a regular sound bar



  32. james bucsis on January 31, 2021 at 10:32 pm

    $190 CDN ….lol



  33. Larry Holliday on January 31, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    Great review πŸ‘



  34. Ajay Sudan on January 31, 2021 at 10:33 pm

    Now I get why you were hating on Geordies you SMB!

    Love the channel by the way xoxo



  35. Michelle on January 31, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Good review but would of liked to hear the sound.



  36. OliverfromDenmark on January 31, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Can someone explain why you would buy a stream-device in 2021? Doesn’t every TV have the ability to stream from the TV itself?



  37. Repulse theMonkey on January 31, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Arghhh, all the info, except demonstrating the AirPlay. Ant good?



  38. ssnnzzee on January 31, 2021 at 10:34 pm

    Looks good, but i need my Kodi… Shame you can’t install on Roku



  39. kevin hughes on January 31, 2021 at 10:35 pm

    Probs stupid question from a proper Geordie can I use this via firestick and 4k tv??????



  40. Lester Torres on January 31, 2021 at 10:38 pm

    Great review. You can use the Xbox Serie X with Streambar (speakers)?



  41. Sherrie Wilson on January 31, 2021 at 10:40 pm

    Can I use my Sony Wireless Headphones with my Roku TV and Roku Soundbar?



  42. Travis Kendel on January 31, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    solid video boss, really helped me out i might go and buy one for cyber monday.



  43. Matt Sanchez on January 31, 2021 at 10:42 pm

    Thanks for the great review Chris, going to add this to the Christmas list.



  44. Daddys Youtube on January 31, 2021 at 10:43 pm

    Can you plug this into a 4K monitor ?



  45. XJD on January 31, 2021 at 10:44 pm

    No sound test?
    πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™‚οΈπŸ™†πŸ»β€β™‚οΈπŸ€¦πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ



  46. Wherez My Cash on January 31, 2021 at 10:45 pm

    Can i plug in a usb hard drive and play 4k x265 files thru the built in media player?



  47. Roger Mash on January 31, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    Just bought the streambar…superb just the right device for late night viewing without disturbing elderly relatives.



  48. Jonathan Stow on January 31, 2021 at 10:47 pm

    This review gets a massive OOOOOOOOOOO from me!! Likey likey.



  49. Paul C on January 31, 2021 at 10:48 pm

    What doe’s the USB do?πŸ‘€



  50. Nelson Contreras on January 31, 2021 at 10:49 pm

    Hello, I purchase the soundbar and love it. if you want to use ethernet you need to go to https://support.roku.com/article/360058027813 and tell you what adapter you need. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00484IEJS/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 hope this helps.