JBL Bar 9 1 Review – Completely Wireless Surround Sound System!

JBL Bar 9 1 Review – Completely Wireless Surround Sound System!

The JBL Bar 9.1 is one of the best completely wireless surround sound systems with a soundbar! Buy JBL Bar 9.1: On Amazon: https://geni.us/ALHDy4 On Crutchfield: https://shop-links.co/1725782925895068588 On Best Buy: https://shop-links.co/1725783093478218732 Purchases made through some store links may provide some compensation to me. ► Checkout My Best Dolby Atmos Soundbars of 2020 Video: The unique feature of this soundbar system is the surround speakers that dock with the soundbar to charge. Then they can be disconnected from the soundbar and placed behind the main seating area. You now have surround speakers that are completely wireless (no power or audio cables). 00:00 Intro 00:59 Unboxing 01:16 Dimensions 02:11 Design 04:08 Connections and Setup 05:08 Controls 07:06 Music Sound Quality 08:44 Surround Sound Quality 10:32 Things I Like 11:19 Things I Don’t Like 13:25 Final Thoughts SUBSCRIBE to the Channel: https://bit.ly/2UyfDlS Our Website: https://thehometheaterdiy.com

50 Comments

  1. Ahmet Cimsit on May 21, 2021 at 6:54 am

    Hi jonah first of all thanks for the quality content you are giving your fellow humans 👍 i do have a question about 2 systems that is the jbl 9.1 and the sonos sub gen 3, i currenlty own a lg system and the bass isnt bad but at low volumes its kinda missing. I want to upgrade to sonor or jbl for basses on low volume which one do you recommend ? Hope i see your reply soon and keep up the good work 👊



  2. Vinayak Bansal on May 21, 2021 at 6:54 am

    Hello, I am looking to buy the JBL Bar 9.1 but I want to know if I put a Fire tv stick 4k in the ‘HDMI in’ of my soundbar and connect a projector through ‘HDMI (eARC)’ out of my soundbar to ‘HDMI in (without ARC/eARC)’ of my projector and use netflix on my Fire stick, will it show atmos support for supported content? Please reply. This is greatly going to influence my purchase decision.



  3. kiran nakarmi on May 21, 2021 at 6:54 am

    I like the cat more than the soundbar



  4. Venu Akhil on May 21, 2021 at 6:56 am

    ❣️ JBL ❣️



  5. Soldier16 on May 21, 2021 at 6:57 am

    Very pricey C$ 1500…. explore other options…..



  6. youwintipss on May 21, 2021 at 6:58 am

    Thank you 😊



  7. Karthik Karunakaran Menon on May 21, 2021 at 6:59 am

    Can’t the surround speakers be permanently fixed to a wall by charging through micro usb??? Or does it need to be docked everytime to the soundbar after use???



  8. Chirag Shah on May 21, 2021 at 7:00 am

    Hi,
    I bought the jbl bar 9.1. My Sony Bravia has ARC port not eARC port. So it can’t not pass the actual dolby atmos sound to soundbar. So I tried to using fire stick but when I connected to soundbar I didn’t get the atmos option to select in Prime as well as Netflix. When i play same things from My tv it’s showing dolby atmos logo but i get dd+ while in Netflix i got Atmos DD+. Pls help me how i can get experience of Dolby Atmos. Shall I returned fire stick?



  9. suraj shrestha on May 21, 2021 at 7:00 am

    Which one is good nakamechi 7.2 or jbl 9.1 plz suggest me…



  10. James Walsh on May 21, 2021 at 7:00 am

    Superb presentation and explanation about the 5.1 and family.



  11. TheMagicHappening on May 21, 2021 at 7:01 am

    Compare this and Vizio elevate which is better!?



  12. Marco Rosas on May 21, 2021 at 7:02 am

    any info regarding battery life for surround speakers?



  13. convinced on May 21, 2021 at 7:03 am

    Hi! Which subwoofer has deeper or louder bass? The jbl bar 9.1 or the sonos sub? Thanks in advance



  14. Jorge Flores on May 21, 2021 at 7:05 am

    You so handsome



  15. Ken G on May 21, 2021 at 7:06 am

    We have a JBL 3.1 Soundbar if it is anything to go by, we’ll be buying another JBL when the current one needs replacing. Awesome sound and beautiful bass ambiance.



  16. Matt Johnson on May 21, 2021 at 7:06 am

    Love the review! Trying to get this right now but it’s sold out everywhere. Even the Sonos is back ordered. Sad.



  17. Dan Hepker on May 21, 2021 at 7:12 am

    Good review. Cool cat!



  18. Risha K on May 21, 2021 at 7:13 am

    Wish it had a app though bc remotes tend to stop working after couple yrs… especially if u have kids



  19. Da HTown Hustla on May 21, 2021 at 7:15 am

    I just heard this while at a best buy today. Could not believe a sound bar could sound that good. Thinking about getting one because it’s truly wireless. But wifey says "you already have an overpowered system as it is". Bowers & wilkins cm speakers and a bowera and wilkins center speaker, pioneer elite receiver and a denon sub. But I’m telling her this thing takes up less space and it’s design is beautiful.



  20. boyvale on May 21, 2021 at 7:16 am

    A single HDMI input is a deal breaker for me.



  21. Alejandro Prera on May 21, 2021 at 7:18 am

    what would you prefer between JBL 9.1 and Sonos Arc (w/o subwoofer, w/o One SL’s)…?
    assuming it is the same prices



  22. TonePix UK on May 21, 2021 at 7:19 am

    Would you prefer the Samsung Q900T or JBL 9.1 ?



  23. Fl0rin 09 on May 21, 2021 at 7:20 am

    I see alott off ppl complaning about subwover gets burn after 1 2 years…



  24. Bill M on May 21, 2021 at 7:20 am

    Returned. After a month the bar would turn on itself while in standby and tv closed. Tried system reset with tv reboot and setting changes with other hdmi cables and still same issue. What a waste cause bar sound was awesome. Went to forums many had similar issues. Contacted JBL but they were no help just said to return bar.



  25. dani karst on May 21, 2021 at 7:22 am

    really tempting to get the jbl one but i nowhere seen videos about wall mounting since i have all cables from all my device tucked away behind my wall 🙁



  26. romeo toxe on May 21, 2021 at 7:22 am

    Jbl is big scrap. I bought this product and its having connectivity problems. When i called customer service, they sent technician. He checked and said MOTHER BOARD needs to be changed. I was shocked. This is the ticket for my complaint TS-C220321-65620 the ticket is still open. They were dragging it from one month. Big head ache. Jbl is literally a big scrap company. Better look for bose or denon. Buy something which will give some peace of mind. These ppl are paid reviewers. They will support jbl. Once we buy nobody cares. Jbl is a big scrap.



  27. Julia Burns on May 21, 2021 at 7:23 am

    I’m on the fence about getting the Bose 300 soundbar with the Bose 500 Subwoofer or is this better?



  28. kfl611 on May 21, 2021 at 7:25 am

    pretty cats.



  29. Scott Stapleton on May 21, 2021 at 7:26 am

    Did anyone else think of Flossy when the cat showed up? "Whiteshoes, calm down"



  30. DeAn H on May 21, 2021 at 7:27 am

    This is Terrible

    Just get the £180-200 Sony HS20R 5.1 400W system



  31. vagjagan on May 21, 2021 at 7:27 am

    Fantastic review 👍🔥



  32. Binson Joseph on May 21, 2021 at 7:29 am

    Is there any chance jbl releases a rear speaker kit for for their soundbars?



  33. Robert Prather on May 21, 2021 at 7:30 am

    what a day and age when things are included in the instruction manual, but it’s considered a minus that you have to read. amazing.



  34. Eric F on May 21, 2021 at 7:33 am

    great concept JBL, too bad it sounds horrible. Returned it within 2 days of ownership.



  35. busup377 on May 21, 2021 at 7:33 am

    What is the best sound at with two hdmi inputs?



  36. Lucas Schrader on May 21, 2021 at 7:33 am

    Hello, my television does not support Dolby Atmos, can I even hear Dolby Atmos with the soundbar on my television?
    Many Thanks.



  37. Jaralt Nadar on May 21, 2021 at 7:34 am

    Can you review sony s700rf ?



  38. Wei on May 21, 2021 at 7:37 am

    Idea: You can test sound quality if you get a pair of proper binural microphones with a silicone head to simulate the skull. Recording like this creates surround sound when played on headsets, and makes it feel like youre actually in the room (it is the best way to get surround sound in youtube’s steroe codecs). This would be amazing for capturing the surround capabilities of these sound systems. Of course your room will still play a factor, but as long as you test in the same room, results should be comparable



  39. Hakan Ozkan on May 21, 2021 at 7:37 am

    Very handsome… nice sound bar too



  40. Mohammad Altayyar on May 21, 2021 at 7:38 am

    8:54 thats what im afraid of. i have a normal speakers system and i was wondering is there a soundbar that can give me a wide sound like the separate speakers left and right of the TV ? Great Review !



  41. Robert Adams on May 21, 2021 at 7:39 am

    JBL calls this soundbar a 9.1 for a reason. If JBL wanted it to be a 5.1.4 soundbar system, they would have named it as such. Just because it confuses you to say 9.1 instead of 5.1.4 doesn’t mean the rest of us don’t fully understand what JBL means.



  42. J on May 21, 2021 at 7:39 am

    The sony 900h earc and jbl 9.1 don’t play well together. The sound bar sound wont come on intermittently when turning the tv on.



  43. Bibsh on May 21, 2021 at 7:39 am

    Hello i just bought this bar few weeks ago , i got one question pls, does the surround speakers charges while its on and playing or it has to be on standby ?pls answer thx



  44. D S on May 21, 2021 at 7:39 am

    Max volume starts shaking my house it’s too loud might return it



  45. John Munera on May 21, 2021 at 7:43 am

    Is there something up with the JBL 9.1? I bought an open box recently but now the system is sold out everywhere. Is it being phased out?



  46. james ikhimioya on May 21, 2021 at 7:45 am

    using this system with Bluetooth will I get the 3d, dobly atmos sound effect?



  47. Risha K on May 21, 2021 at 7:46 am

    I have watch other videos which states the surround speakers have 2 speakers in them. Also the end of the bar itself has 2 speakers at each end .. the 4 extra speakers makes it 9 channel



  48. Ashk Ash on May 21, 2021 at 7:46 am

    hi how can I update Jbl 9.1



  49. iakovos omourloglou on May 21, 2021 at 7:46 am

    Great review,i would like to ask if its possible to use an external amplifier?



  50. Anton Emmanuel on May 21, 2021 at 7:49 am

    I hope their next update on this model to have individual sound set up features on JBL app