Galaxy S21 review: The no-brainer upgrade phone

Galaxy S21 review: The no-brainer upgrade phone

The Galaxy S21 along with the Galaxy S21 Plus and Galaxy S21 Ultra make up the 2021 S series lineup. In the US, Samsung was able to cut $200 off the price of all three phones. The company wisely moved the Galaxy S21 away from the uber-premium Galaxy S20 and closer to the Galaxy S20 FE. Subscribe to CNET: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV CNET playlists: https://www.youtube.com/user/CNETTV/playlists Download the new CNET app: https://cnet.app.link/GWuXq8ExzG Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cnet Follow us on Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/cnet Follow us on Instagram: http://bit.ly/2icCYYm

50 Comments

  1. Paul Mech on March 26, 2022 at 6:26 pm

    Just got this phone for free yesterday. With no contract. The carrier gave me a charger too. But, I did have to turn in my j3 ๐Ÿ˜‚



  2. jerry P. on March 26, 2022 at 6:26 pm

    The s21 is a stripped down piece of junk.. im a big samsung fan, IOS looking better all the time.



  3. Grim Wiley on March 26, 2022 at 6:27 pm

    Soon I am getting the Galaxy s21. It has a better Camera and even holds much more memory space than an IPhone 11 does. I have 8,000 photos in my gallery and have to Clean the storage on the iPhone every week. It sucks. Samsung here I come!



  4. Jimmy Armijo on March 26, 2022 at 6:30 pm

    I got mine for $600 last April. In Phantom Violet.



  5. Breyla Lundgard on March 26, 2022 at 6:31 pm

    Thinking about upgrading from my XR to an s21 and Iโ€™m still on the fence if I should do it. Iโ€™ve loved the Samsung galaxyโ€™s since they came out, Iโ€™m just still on the fence bc I love my iPhone too



  6. Judy Massey on March 26, 2022 at 6:33 pm

    O body tells you you



  7. Mark Franco on March 26, 2022 at 6:33 pm

    Hope I like this phone, it’s replacing my current S9+, which I guess is quite ‘long in the tooth’ now. Have a friend who’ll do the swap/wifi change over thing for me. Deffinatly glad to be getting a new phone, guess I bought my S9+ new (when it was actually already an old dated phone) about 3 yrs ago.



  8. ๋ง์น˜๋“ ๊ฐ„ํ˜ธ์‚ฌ on March 26, 2022 at 6:34 pm

    i used iphone 7plus, x, 11 and switched to S21. im 100 percent satisfied with the price and how it looks. great value for sure



  9. Shane on March 26, 2022 at 6:35 pm

    Dude really can’t say "CH"



  10. Mary Williams on March 26, 2022 at 6:36 pm

    I love my (Galaxy S21 5G ). It woks just fine



  11. ThroatSore on March 26, 2022 at 6:36 pm

    Who cares about the back of a phone. You look at it for ten minutes and then slap it in a cover.



  12. Bob Brock on March 26, 2022 at 6:36 pm

    I tried out an iPhone 12, I have been an Android user my whole life. I wanted to learn the iPhone os so I can perform my future career in technology better. The iPhone has some cool features, but the Galaxy does everything better. Siri is awesome, and I love the iPhone features. But the multiple irritants made me leave the iPhone behind. You have to do a special work around for a good night mode. Without applying the dark zoom filter th let screen is still blindingly bright. I’m so excited to return to the Galaxy.

    And of course your phone will get hot doing a benchmark test.



  13. TheCag24 on March 26, 2022 at 6:39 pm

    Lol, searching for a phone review and see this one is filmed in my hometown. Not what I was expecting to find. I think you’ve sold me on the phone though.



  14. Anthony Fiasco on March 26, 2022 at 6:39 pm

    I feel like my s10+ that’s 2 years old is still better??…



  15. Favian Harnarain on March 26, 2022 at 6:39 pm

    I think ๐Ÿค” itโ€™s a good idea phone cause I will get one and get rid of my iPhone



  16. choi on March 26, 2022 at 6:45 pm

    Really regretting buying this phone its effectively identical to my S9+. Hopefully when it arrives my mind will change



  17. Mikel Tan on March 26, 2022 at 6:46 pm

    If I switch from Android, how do I send hi-res video to an iphone user??



  18. Specz on March 26, 2022 at 6:47 pm

    Boost has this for sale for $500. Considering upgrading from an old s7. Although the screen on the s7 still sounds like it’s better resolution and ppi but does it really make a noticeable difference? I also like the small one handed feel on the s7. Never had a bezel-less phone. No water resistance on s21 either?



  19. Hyperbolic Time Chamber Strand on March 26, 2022 at 6:48 pm

    If you complain about the S21 you have some serious 1st world problems it’s a beast.



  20. G.J. Santiago Su Chien on March 26, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    As it doesn’t come with the SD card possibility, I chosed the 256 GB version, because it never stays small.



  21. G.J. Santiago Su Chien on March 26, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    I have a note 20 ultra for working reason, and as a second assistant and alternative mobile, I chosed the S21 and I was surprised by it’s performance.



  22. James Philipson on March 26, 2022 at 6:49 pm

    So many people talk about the expandable storage being gone as being an issue. What do people store on their phones do require over 256gb or storage? Real question
    Iโ€™ve got an iPhone 7 atm with 128gb and with 5 years of regular photos, videos and cloud usage Iโ€™ve used 40.5gb. 128 seems fine for most anyone, surely



  23. RA on March 26, 2022 at 6:50 pm

    how are the calls??
    i guess i ordered a really good device which has calling like an option not the main thing :)))))



  24. Jaime Fernandez Jr on March 26, 2022 at 6:52 pm

    I like the tight security of the IOS software better than Android. ๐Ÿ‘



  25. Jose Navarro on March 26, 2022 at 6:52 pm

    How big is the memory on this phone



  26. Ola Oluwa on March 26, 2022 at 6:52 pm

    I got mine yesterday the phone is awesome



  27. The crosseyed Texan on March 26, 2022 at 6:57 pm

    I do not consider the removal of gorilla Glass from the back to be a compromise in any way. I personally have always thought that it was a super stupid idea. But that’s just me



  28. william hepburn on March 26, 2022 at 7:01 pm

    The screen could have been better for the price



  29. DMK Anthony 07 on March 26, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    Plastic back means no qi charge right?



  30. Danny B. on March 26, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    No Charger box for 8 hundred dollars !



  31. J O'Sheridan on March 26, 2022 at 7:03 pm

    I love how at 7:26, you can see that he is being recorded from behind by a guy with an iPhone ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚



  32. Emily Deiterman on March 26, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    I have this phone and I absolutely love it ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜



  33. D218 on March 26, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    my mom have s21, im started to become jealous



  34. Amad ali on March 26, 2022 at 7:05 pm

    5:00



  35. Belรฉn Monsivais on March 26, 2022 at 7:06 pm

    i want to switch to a samsung s21 but i have iphone and iโ€™m not sure how it would be like bc of the no sim card so iโ€™m debating ๐Ÿ™



  36. M LKER on March 26, 2022 at 7:07 pm

    I’m late to the party but just ordered the S21 to replace my S10. Looks like after all these reviews i am making a good choice. Thanks for sharing.



  37. Trap Turtle on March 26, 2022 at 7:08 pm

    Good review. Thanks.



  38. G.J. Santiago Su Chien on March 26, 2022 at 7:11 pm

    Yes, I like the S21, it is out of my imagination.



  39. Mario Dutra on March 26, 2022 at 7:12 pm

    I looked at the S21+ and S21 Ultra and found them too big to lug around everywhere.



  40. ZelenskyKlitschkoHeroes on March 26, 2022 at 7:14 pm

    why suddenly my battery drain so fast ???



  41. John peter on March 26, 2022 at 7:16 pm

    As always, C/NET comes correct
    Although some people have been bringing up some issues about having a blacklisted Samsung and others. Just wanted to say it’s actually quite easy to fix, if you’re actually prepared for legit phone software repair, H4webmaster on Twitter and IG is where to be, without bogus fees and sometimes subject to bargain.



  42. Krzysztof Skowronek on March 26, 2022 at 7:19 pm

    In last two years I jumped from Galaxy S8 to OnePlus 7t and now to S21. It’s great, the size is PERFECT, screen is so good that just scrolling the settings up and down is fun. Can’t speak for battery life yet, but it last a single day no problem.

    The only downside up until now is charging. I got a wireless pad to slow charge it during the night, but after OnePlus 40min 0-100% charging, S21 suuuucks. It does not even go full speed on the OP charger (which is 35W if I remember correctly) – I have to buy another one, because without "fast charging" it takes two hours to charge.

    Other than that, great phone, amazing cameras, super fast and fluid, and the size, I can’t get over the perfection of the size (at least for my hands)



  43. Joseph Pepe on March 26, 2022 at 7:20 pm

    It’s the worst selling S series, down 20% from the S20 and 40% since the S10



  44. Stephen Kitcoff on March 26, 2022 at 7:20 pm

    If you had a choice between the S21 or the S20 FE and you were not a ‘heavy user’ which would you suggest? Tks



  45. Ngoc Anh on March 26, 2022 at 7:22 pm

    It looks gorgeous!



  46. leopard on March 26, 2022 at 7:22 pm

    Is it true that the phone overheating when using simple application or camera??



  47. Christopher Mering on March 26, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Watching on my s21. Its just too good



  48. 300 I Gaming on March 26, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Compact and powerful? Plastic back may be for price or light weight? ๐Ÿค”



  49. Lost in the Clouds on March 26, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Iโ€™m between the s20fe 5g and the s21 5g for gaming. I like the fe and it has a couple things that beat the s21 like battery life but the s21 has 2gb more ram then the 20, however if the s21 runs hot after only 20 min for a game – thatโ€™s not gd



  50. ๐“•๐“• ๐“›๐“ž๐“ฅ๐“”๐“กเฟ on March 26, 2022 at 7:24 pm

    It’s so expensive. But it has plastic back.L๐Ÿ˜‚L